Weekly outline

  • General

    Image result for american history class

    American History I
    Semester I
    Beginning to Reconstruction

    Mrs. Katie Hedlund
    katie_hedlund@roseauschool.org

    @mrshedlundclass

  • Chapter 13 - The Impending Crisis

    Image result for lincoln douglas


    Wednesday, November 1 - Chapter 13 Notes  - Read Chapter 13 - MO Compromise, Comp of 1850, KS-NB Act

    Thursday, November 2 - Slavery & the Abolitionists - new extra credit xword available - Ch 13 Notebook Extra

    Friday, November 3 - The Road to War: Election of 1860

    Tuesday, November 8 - John Brown's Raid

    Wednesday November 9 - Dred Scott Activity

    Thursday, November 10 - Catch-up day (most gone) - extra credit xword, flip times


  • Chapter 14 - The Civil War


    Monday, November 13: Ken Burns "The Causes of the Civil War"

    Tuesday, November 14: Ken Burns "The Causes of the Civil War"

    Wednesday, November 15-Friday, November 17: Civil War Battle Project

    Monday, November 20: Civil War Project Presentations

    Tuesday, November 21: Civil War Project Presentations

    Wednesday, November 22: Presentations if needed, Major Battle Map Activity, Notebook Extra on Causes of the Civil War

    Monday, November 27: Civil War Music

    Tuesday, November 28: Gettysburg Address/Emancipation Proclamation/54th Massachusetts 

    Wednesday, November 29: Emancipation Proclamation & Gettysburg Address Primary Sources

    Thursday, November 30: MN Regiments in the Civil War

    Friday, December 1: Group Breakdown of Gettysburg Address

    Monday, December 4: End of War, Sherman's March, Appomattox Courthouse

    Tuesday, December 5-Friday December 8: Lincoln

    Monday, December 11: CSI Investigation - Lincoln Assassination

    Tuesday, December 12: Civil War Columns - Strengths/Weaknesses/Civil War Info Review


  • Chapter 15 - Reconstruction



    Wednesday, December 13 - Plan for Reconstruction, Wade-Davis Bill

    Thursday, December 14 - The Black Codes, Ku Klux Klan

    Friday, December 15 - 13, 14, 15 Amendments & Notebook Extra on Reconstruction Character

    Monday, December 18 - Reconstruction Columns, Civil War/Reconstruction Jeopardy


  • Chapter 17 - Industrial Supremacy

    ind rev



    Tuesday, December 19: Ch 17 notes, short industrial rev videos

    Wednesday, December 20: Industrial Revolution Group Project Research/pick invention

    Thursday, December 21: Invention Poster

    Friday, December 22: Invention Poster - Test Essays open

    Tuesday, January 2: Invention Commercial

    Wednesday, January 3: Invention Commercial

    Thursday, January 4: Show Commercials/1 page reflection

    Friday, January 5: Industrial Revolution Columns - Test Study Day

    Monday, January 8: Test Study Day

    Tuesday, January 9: Quarter 2 Test

  • End of Semester Test

    Review:

    • Ch 13, 14, 15, 17
    • Columns on bulletin board
    • notes off Moodle/notebook
    • notebook extras/flip times
    • Causes/lead up to Civil War
    • textbook website assignments
    • worksheets/projects/videos
    • essay possibilities